Leave a comment

Back to spinning

I think more spinning in the near future…

Just a quick one today. We had a stand-in spinning instructor today, so the class was a little different. There was a very good music selection: it really got the class going. The class was mainly climbs with a few sprints thrown in.

This instructor particularly likes using several positions when standing, such as a vertical back with fingertips touching the handlebars. Another of his favourites involves leaning forwards with elbows on the handlebars, which is quite an usual position to pedal in. I don’t usually enjoy the way he insists on changing our positions, but this time I actually did enjoy it: it may have been as I hadn’t had this instructor for a while.

We also did seated climbs. One used a single leg at a time, so we had to focus on pushing and pulling one foot around in a smooth circle. Previously I had found this very difficult, but today I did well, even with my left leg. I think running may have led to an improvement: both legs were of similar strength today, when previously my right has been much stronger

Another climb used a standing climb resistance, we then sat and only pulled (with both feet), which I found nearly impossible, I think, as my standing climb resistance is probably a lot “steeper” than most people’s.

Overall a good day, a busy weekend coming up: hopefully I can try my new shoes outdoors…

Leave a comment